Labeling Tomatoes

Some people are lucky to find a variety of tomato they like and fill their garden with it.  I am not such a person.  When I attend garden shows or visit garden centers, I find myself overwhelmed by the sheer number of different tomato varieties – red, yellow, orange, green, purple and even black!  Small, large, early maturing, late maturing, delicious-for-eating, great-for-canning.  I want one of each!

So, each year I start at least a dozen different varieties, however, last year I had issues keeping track of which variety was which.  The popsicle sticks with names sharpie-ed on them were NOT adequate for the job!  This year I came up with a unique solution that I like a lot better.  Used canning lids!  Since lids can only be used once, I have a large stack of them that I hadn’t thrown away, feeling they must have another purpose.  I drilled a small hole in the top of each and attached it via a small piece of wire, to the top of the trellis, directly above each plant.  They flap in the wind and make a lovely wind-chime noise, but more importantly, there is no doubt which variety grows in each space.  Even when the plants have grown significantly, I should still be able to see and read the labels on the lids.  So much better than digging in the dirt looking for a popsicle stick that has long since disintegrated!

IMG_0754

Leave a Reply

