Baked Custard

What do you do with a surplus of both milk and eggs?  Make custard of course!  We hadn’t been milking long before we found ourselves in that situation and, seeking a way to use the surplus, I looked up recipes for baked custard.  However I didn’t like any of the recipes I found as they used too few eggs.  So, I took a bit of this and a bit of that to create my own version of this wonderful dessert, that HWA has nicknamed “hot ice-cream”.  Here is my recipe for baked custard:

3 cups milk (we use raw milk, either goat or cow)
8 eggs
⅓ cup sugar
1 ½ teaspoons vanilla
¼ teaspoon salt

Break the eggs into the bowl of a food processor, and process for about a minute until they are thoroughly mixed.  Add the remaining ingredients and mix again.  Pour into a glass or ceramic baking dish.

Place the baking dish into another oven-safe container that is somewhat larger.  Pour water into the second container until it comes about halfway up the sides of the custard dish.

Bake for 40 minutes at 350.

That is all.  It doesn’t get any easier!

I tried to get a photo before anyone ate any but you have be faster around here than I am apparently.

I tried to get a photo before anyone ate any but you have be faster around here than I am apparently.

One thought on “Baked Custard

  1. Yum, you could also add some buttered bread and sultanas and make bread and butter pudding. It’s a favourite out bush as it uses up the crusts and stoe bread.

Leave a Reply

