Liver and Onions

I mentioned here that I would provide the recipe I use to cook liver and it really couldn’t be simpler.

First I dice up an onion or two and sauté in a little of the fat I save from every bird I process.  While it is sautéing, I cut the liver into bite-size pieces and dredge thoroughly in flour that has a little salt and pepper added to it.

Once the onions are golden brown, I remove them from the pan, add a little more fat if needed and wait for it to heat, then add the liver.  It only needs to cook for a few minutes on each side until the flour is browned and crisp.  Then I add the onions back in to mix and reheat and a minute or two later it is ready to eat.

I am no nutritionist so I won’t try to provide the specific benefits to eating liver except to say that it is high in many valuable nutrients.  It is an acquired taste – I can’t say I loved it from the first bite, though I grew to like it quickly – and after eating it, I feel good; energetic and like I can take on the world.

Modern society shuns organ meats but in my book they are definitely worth revisiting.

Leave a Reply

